David Abramson

David Abramson

Award Recipient
Share this on:

David Abramson has been involved in computer architecture and high-performance computing research since 1979.

He is currently a Professor of Computer Science, and currently heads the University of Queensland Research Computing Centre. He has held appointments at Griffith University, The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) and Monash University in Australia.

Prior to joining UQ, he was the Director of the Monash e-Education Centre, Science Director of the Monash e-Research Centre, department Chair of Computer Science and a Professor of Computer Science in the Faculty of Information Technology at Monash University.

From 2007 to 2011 he was an Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow.

Abramson has expertise in High Performance Computing, distributed and parallel computing, computer architecture and software engineering.

He has produced in excess of 230 research publications, and some of his work has also been integrated in commercial products. One of these, Nimrod, has been used widely in research and academia globally, and is also available as a commercial product, called EnFuzion, from Axceleon.

His world-leading work in parallel debugging is sold and marketed by Cray Inc, one of the world’s leading supercomputing vendors, as a product called ccdb.

Abramson is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), and the Australian Computer Society (ACS).

He has held visiting professorships at a number of Australian universities, and also the University of California, San Diego and the University of Oxford.

His hobbies include recreational cycling, photography and making stained glass windows. He is also an amateur playwright, and author of Purely Academic.




2021 Ken Kennedy Award Recipient
“For innovation in parallel and distributed computing tools with broad applications, as well as leadership contributions to professional service, creating international technical communities, and mentoring.”
Learn more about the Ken Kennedy Award