History Committee
Learn more about the History Committee and its mission.

The History Committee assists IEEE Computer Society, IEEE, national and international organizations to preserve and document the history of computing, with particular attention to the history of the IEEE Computer Society.

The committee collects and maintains basic quantitative data on the IEEE Computer Society’s efforts; publishes and encourages articles dealing with the historical aspects of the IEEE Computer Society, and manages the IEEE Computer Society archives. The committee maintains liaisons with national and international organizations including the IEEE History Committee, the IEEE History Center, and the IEEE Computer Society Awards Committee.

The History Committee chair is appointed by the president. The chair appoints committee members to provide liaison with IEEE Computer Society, IEEE, national, and international history of computing organizations. The Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Annals of the History of Computing is an ex officio member of the History Committee.

Questions?  Contact the History Committee

2020 History Committee


  • William Aspray, University of Colorado Boulder and Charles Babbage Institute


  • Pennington Ahlstrand, Computer History Museum
  • David Brock, Computer History Museum
  • James Cortada, IBM retired and Charles Babbage Institute
  • Helena Durnova, Masaryk University
  • Jonathan Grudin, Microsoft Education
  • Unmil Karadkar, Karl Franzen Universität, Graz
  • Chigusa Kita, Kyoto University
  • David Lomet, Microsoft Research
  • Alex Magoun, IEEE History Center
  • Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, University of Kansas
  • Andrew Russell, SUNY Polytechnic University
  • Honghong Tinn, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • David Walden, BBN Technologies retired

Ex officio:

  • Leila De Floriani, University of Maryland and IEEE Computer Society
  • Gerardo con Diaz, University of California Davis and Annals of the History of Computing
  • Anne Marie Kelly, IEEE Computer Society*



Updated 08.27.2020